This old dog learns new tricks

What a triumph! I actually took part in a social activity. The Animal Anti-Cruelty League charity had a 4km fun walk; the fun part being we actually walked the rescued dogs. I joined a lift club/convoy with some ladies from work for the 80km round trip. I’ve never socialized with people from work. I’ve been invited but always say no. So once we got to the venue and I got out the car, one of the ladies exclaimed – Pieces! You’re the last person I expected to see here. She was thrilled I had joined in and kept telling me how happy was to see me there.

I asked for a fat, lazy dog to walk because I didn’t want to pull or strain my back. Well, Pebbles wasn’t fat or lazy… just old and we had a steady stroll along the marked trail winding through the farmlands, with plenty of watering troughs for the dogs. Out in nature, walking a dog, life really doesn’t get any better!

Pebbles wasn’t interested in leading the pack

Pebbles and I enjoy the scenery

 

10 comments

    1. I’ve already found another shelter closer to home. I’m going there on Sunday to walk some more dogs 🙂 It was heavenly. Do you know I took over 300 photos of the dogs and the walkers and the scenery. My god Laura, it was a superb day!

      Like

  1. That’s so great Pieces!!!! I’m so glad that you enjoyed yourself. Pebbles looks adorable and the scenery is great. What a nice day you must have had. I’m really happy for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good for you. Being involved in activism and volunteering is so great. I love doing it, when I can, and have found lots of enjoyment and fun. I love dogs and walking them so much. But I can only do that on my bike cause I can’t walk more than half a block at a time. Riding with them walking is lots of fun for me. Wish I could have been there with you and doggies. I love doggies so very very much.

    Good and healing thoughts to you and to all the doggies and walkers too.

    Kate

    Liked by 1 person

Say what you mean, and mean what you say

