Wait ’til you hear this

Do certain noises bother you to the brink of destruction? It could be neurological and not only psychological.

The technical term for that noise-triggered irritation and rage is misophonia (“hatred of sound”)” – http://www.mentalfloss.com

There are certain sounds that drive me round the bend. They turn me into a deadly, slow-boiling pressure cooker. These particular noises drill a hole right through my head. All other sounds are secondary. It’s all I can hear. I can’t focus. Can’t concentrate. This sound hypersensitivity dials up the anger and my reaction is extreme and out of proportion. I want to scream, throw things, run, pull at my hair – stop, stop, stop, for the love of god just stopppppp!

It’s a precarious situation for me because I struggle with bipolar rage, and this seemingly innocent sound is edging me to the brink of madness. All manner of chaos could ensue. I feel like I’m losing my mind. But I’m not, this madness is very real.

If the sound of a co-worker repeatedly clicking his pen can send you into a flaming furor, take heart: You’re not being hypersensitive” – http://www.mentalfloss.com

Triggers break your sound barrier

The trigger sounds also provoked a clear stress response in people with misophonia” – http://www.mentalfloss.com

My work environment is not ideal. A small department with co-workers in close proximity. There is a constant stream of people, hustle, bustle, loud talking, angry shouting, laughing – one great big disturbance. Tinny music clanging from nearby earphones, sniffing, oh the sniffing…. sneazing, more loud voices, did I mention the loud voices, and the “hello’s” and “goodbye’s” as staff use our office as a common thoroughfare. My coping skill is music. Plug the earphones in and the outside irritants and overstimulation disappears. The tiniest of noises can drive me beserk, but music is always the best medicine.

10 comments

  1. I feel for ya, Pieces. There’s nothing worse than being trapped in a room with a cacophony of noise beating at your head. You do have that one saving grace…your coping skill. Music has been my friend for decades upon decades. Without it, I would go nuts. I am guessing you have had this same experience. Be sure you have a backup set of earphones just in case your standard ones cut out on you.

    Be the change you want to see in the world. And if you can’t, just laugh, it’ll make people wonder what the heck you’re up to.

    Peace

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Its always so cool to find out something’s a ‘thing’ and not just you thinking you’ve gone nuts! I’ve always know I’m noise sensitive, but just randomly stumbled upon this. So its ‘me’ after all, its the illness 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi,

    I’m sorry that you deal with that and have such a noisy workplace to boot

    I am sensitive to noise and sometimes enraged by noise. Sometimes I think I have this issue and other times I am not sure. I have, in the past, had a horrible light sensitivity, but that has gotten much better since going gluten free more than five years ago. I had read that some food intolerances/allergies and body sensitivities can be related.

    I know someone who is autistic who uses noise cancelling headphones when she goes out of the house. Have you ever tried those?

    Good and healing thoughts to you.

    Kate

    Like

Say what you mean, and mean what you say

