Turn it around

Since my dismal annual increase my thoughts have been in a fear-based loop. So I decided to change my current direction of thought. Its one of my coping skills – turn it around. It brings a shift in perspective. So I made a decision to…

… stop being driven by fear and bemoaning what I don’t have, and celebrate what I DO have. To turn it around. And I’m so grateful for the things I do have. I may not eat out at fancy restaurants. I may not fly to Mauritius on holiday, I may not have a wardrobe full of clothes and shoes and a fridge full of fancy foods. But hat I do have are luxuries a large population of South Africans don’t have…..

While most live in real poverty, I have a home with a beautiful view….

….I have running water

….and I have a flushing toilet

I have a washing machine and don’t have to do washing by hand…..

…..I have electricity which gives me lights, a TV to watch, a laptop to write and blog, a fridge with basic, healthy foods like vegetables…..

….. and I have a job and I earn a salary and, because I have a salary, I have a cell phone that can take these photos. Perspective – I am so grateful for all I have. Its more than most.

 

7 comments

  1. I’ll tell you what, before I lived in that crappy apartment I just moved out of a few months ago I took running water and working toilets for granted. A day doesn’t go by now where I don’t feel gratitude for having these things. So happy to use these things without them leaking all over the place!

    Like

    1. Thank you! Turn it around is a well applied coping skill and it can be adapted for varying situations. You can make it work for your individual needs. We take simple things for granted. And these ‘simple’ things I have are such a gift

      Liked by 1 person

Say what you mean, and mean what you say

