Lackluster

Woke up with fear in my gut
Wanted to keep my eyes tight shut
Got no money in the bank, it’s a deep and empty tank
Annual increase is laughable
Implausible
Impractical
Totally irrational
I must look like a sucker to those rich motherfuckers
In their castles on the hill while I work myself ill
So I didn’t do my hair because I don’t care

I didn’t paint my face and not by mistake

its a rebellion

against the reccession that has become my life

of the highs and the lows and the anything goes

the why’s and the woes and the who fuck knows

I’m tired

mired in this uphill treadmill

of going nowhere slowly

headed to the end lonely

I have to say, it’s been a lackluster day

12 comments

  1. brutally exhausted writing. The exasperation is marvellously conveyed. I love the rhyming in structure and the flow it creates. it’s beautifully written piece about something so despairing.
    Fantastic work. I hope these lackluster feelings pass quickly

    oh and never worry about not doing your hair, noone can complete with my wonderfully wavy locks so you and the rest of the world don’t really need to try so hard 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lolol… thanks Cameron for the lovely compliments. But I have really, reeeeeaally curly hair. If I don’t do something with it, it kinda goes wild. Wild-wild. I am not a pretty sight to see. Truly embarrassing. But hey, its not gonna kill me, right? 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Say what you mean, and mean what you say

