Music, dishes and a few days of rain

I want to be inspired to live. To be motivated. Find focus. To find the beauty in details, sift through the grunge and pull out a positive. To hear a song that seems to have been written just for me, for where I’m at – whether it’s happy, sad, lonely, angry. To laugh, to smile, to love and to be brave. Big or small, to touch joy and the satisfaction of achievement. Even for only a moment. I want to take stock of my efforts and achievements and revel in the victories. I’m paving my way in an attempt to be joyful and at peace with my life. And here is where I document my travels – every Thursday. Come along for the ride.

Sometimes its not just about medication. Sometimes I have to work, I mean really work hard at living. I really enjoyed this Nina Simone songs about butterflies, sunshine, breezes driftin’ and new beginnings. It lifted my heart up one beat.

It’s a new dawn,
it’s a new day,
it’s a new life for me
– Nina Simone

During a depression, the small everyday chores become a daily challenge. I finally washed my dishes that had been lying in the sink for several days. A great personal achievement

Dirty dishes wait patiently to be cleaned

Dirty dishes wait patiently to be cleaned

Lo and behold, I actually got round to washing those filthy things. What a triumph

Lo and behold, I actually got round to washing those filthy things. What a triumph

Although dismal, grey and dreary, rain during a countrywide drought is always welcome.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

7 comments

  1. I first heard songs by Nina Simone in a movie, Point of No Return (1993) with Bridget Fonda. She plays a character that’s been beaten down by life and ultimately survives under her own terms. I highly recommend it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for the encouragement! Yes, our illness is sometimes all about management and this is a new strategy I’m trying to implement – turn things around. Its raining its depressing OR its raining in a drought what a blessing. And it does alter my point of view so as to not be mired down in the darkness 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Say what you mean, and mean what you say

