Do you like you?

My previous post [here] about how I sometimes feel like a monster, was an attempt to try to change my own perception of myself. Its part of my skill set. Logically I realise what I feel isn’t necessarily true, so I try to look at things from another angle, and in writing that, hopefully I process that logic and transform it into an emotional reality. And in posting it, maybe change someone else’s perception of themselves.

At the time I wrote it, I did feel like a monster. I still do a bit. My plan is a work in progress. Thank you for all your affirming comments. I have read them and re-read them and I want you to know they are making a difference in my outlook during this extended depressed episode.

Painkills2 shared a song which is so amazing I just had to share it. It shows me I try too hard to be what others want to see and reaffirms the original intent with my ‘monster’ post – that I’m no monster, just another extraordinary human being with faults and beautiful attributes. Some things I can’t change. But despite that, I like the me I am growing into. I don’t have to try so hard. All I need is to get up and try to like the best of me.

Wait a second,
Why should you care, what they think of you
When you’re all alone, by yourself
Do you like you? Do you like you?

– Colbie Caillat

 

And maybe being brave and accepting yourself …. can be fun….

 

7 comments

  1. On good days I like myself and think I’m one bad ass chick. On bad days, not so much. On the in-between days it’s a toss up. I like certain things about me and wish I could change others. I know that in order to be a healthy, well rounded individual, I need to LOVE myself. I’m still working on that. I’ve been through so much in my life that loving myself seems impossible. I’m just working on the liking myself every day and hoping that it will eventually lead to love.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Being brave is not always easy. In fact, in can be damn hard. But, there comes a point in everybody’s life when they learn that it’s a waste of energy to care about what other people think. All you can do is be yourself. Be the best person you can be. I’m not always the nicest person I can be, but I do try. 🙂

    I know Sara Bareilles has been around for awhile, but I just discovered her. So… This one’s for dancing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Say what you mean, and mean what you say

