Cereal is my favourite food group

I am bipolar and a recovering anorexic made fat by both side effects of bipolar medication, and a damaged thyroid caused by Lithium. Living single and alone, its not only a challenge to cook for one, but it’s a daily battle to eat a nutritious, balanced diet. Or even just to eat at all. I transition between starvation, comfort and binge eating. Everything to extreme, and nothing balanced. This is my weekly journal documenting my eating patterns, moods and thoughts. An attempt to keep account of my successes and failures with food.

I’m gluten intolerant so for me, cereal is a hard commodity to find. Its also soooo expensive thanks to the Banting craze. Since I still haven’t broken the barrier of proper cooking, I decided to ditch the toast and treat myself to some gluten free granola. My favourite part is swirling through the milk to find the sunflower seeds and pop them between my teeth. MmmmHmmmm!

My gluten free granola with milk.  Nothing screams 'I'M SINGLE' like buying a 250ml little bottle of milk and one toilet roll

My gluten free granola with milk. Nothing screams ‘I’M SINGLE’ like buying a 250ml little bottle of milk and one toilet roll

And then I managed to step a little bit further out my comfort zone, I actually used a chopping board!  I made a fruit salad with pawpaw and bananas smothered in cream.  Hey, the banting diet says you can have full cream, so technically, I really am dieting!

And then I managed to step a little bit further out my comfort zone, I actually used a chopping board! I made a fruit salad with pawpaw and bananas smothered in cream. Hey, the banting diet says you can have full cream, so technically, I really am dieting!

 

 

2 comments

Say what you mean, and mean what you say

