Sales pitch

you wanna date me?
you wanna make me yours?
right now?
how?
you don’t even know me
even though we’ve
talked briefly over the years
texting playful but always perplexing
so from where does this proposal come
me thinks you’ve plucked it out your bum
while you’ve gotten older
your dating pool’s grown colder
you think I’m an easy option
desperate for adoption
but despite your age
you’re still a shark in a cage
nothing but a playa
using my heart to wager
a remedy to your loneliness
but from you its meaningless
I know your type
from my old past life
I’m not interested in your pitch
I’m giving your offer a miss

3 comments

  1. I love “me thinks you’ve plucked it out your bum” such a perfect line.
    It not a great feeling to be annoyed by someone you’ve long since removed from your life I imagine but it has created so rather honest and we’ll written pieces!!

    Liked by 1 person

Say what you mean, and mean what you say

