Making myself a priority

I am bipolar and a recovering anorexic made fat by both side effects of bipolar medication, and a damaged thyroid caused by Lithium. Living single and alone, its not only a challenge to cook for one, but it’s a daily battle to eat a nutritious, balanced diet. Or even just to eat at all. I transition between starvation, comfort and binge eating. Everything to extreme, and nothing balanced. This is my weekly journal documenting my eating patterns, moods and thoughts. An attempt to keep account of my successes and failures with food.

Another nourishing week. Cooked most nights, and ate leftovers the rest. Something I’ve noticed is I take better care of myself when single. Its made me realise how much of myself I ‘lose’ when in a relationship. The other person becomes the sole focus of my attention and I don’t make myself my own priority. I’m grateful for this realisation. Should a future relationship come along, I will be more aware of the use of my time.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

4 comments

  1. Girl
    You are sounding much better, we are thankful for how long happiness stays around. I was in shock when I started meds so long ago. I was the skinny/not starving girl and I gained 25 pounds the first month. It’s a bitch but feeling good mentally and making an effort to watch how much chocolate you eat! HAHA.
    On a very serious note. You are not Bipolar. Bipolar is an illness you have. Don’t forget all wonderful things you are. Read my about me again, towards the bottom I talk about the same topic. You are so strong, honest, not bitter towards the world, just ex’s, which is natural. I’m so proud of you, to see the winding road you had to take was painful at times. When you’re up/not hypo or manic, think of strategies to deal with the bad, totally shitty, really shitty days and ones when all you want to do is scream. These are practices I work on.
    When I’m depressed I go from depressed, real depressed, delusional to suicidal. It trully sucks. For me, I say God is preparing me for the next journey. It would be great if it was to a tropical island.
    Think of you often. Illness keeps from doing as much, but I’m stronger and will get well.
    Luv ya
    πŸ™‚
    M

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh the pictures of the food are mouth watering! It looks so delicious and nutritious! And the realization of how you lose yourself in a relationship is priceless! You’re doing it, staying aware and healthy. Love and hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

Say what you mean, and mean what you say

