I choose me

its finally time to find myself
in a place that exists for no one else
I have banished the bad
that have long had
their way with my head
this time I choose myself instead
I may be alone, but its what I condone
with this new chapter there’s only myself to factor
to enjoy my own undivided attention
in exchange for unwanted affection
no compromise to disguise
differences in our preferences
while excluding mine which you treat as benign
no draining of my energy
into a state of lethargy
or walking on egg shells
in an attempt to dispel
subtle abuse
no
that’s not what I choose
This time I choose me because finally I see
and what I see is, I am worthy

7 comments

Say what you mean, and mean what you say

