Slow down

The excitement of buying my home sweet home has worn off and morphed into absolute terror. I’m engulfed by fear – not only the financial side of things, but the logistics of buying a place that needs work. My head is swimming with to-do-this and to-do-that and to-execute-perfectly.

I. AM . FREAKING . OUT !!

And I swear, I am the butt of Life’s jokes. This morning, frazzled and overwhelmed, on my way to work, the first song that pops up on shuffle is Beethoven’s 5th symphony. Right now if I were a piece of music, this would be it……….

But amidst all this panic, I’ve developed a new mantra that is working well for me so far:

SLOW DOWN
slow down
slo-o-o-o-ow…….. do-o-o-o-o-own……..

And I’ve plotted a gameplan. I’ve written out a list of queries I need answers for, people I need to book, items I need to order/buy/make, and I’m systematically going down the list. I move in on Thursday, 1 September and have taken leave for the Friday too. Since I was going to have the extra day off, I have had an intense urgency to wrap up all renovations immediately on that one day. Impossible I know, but tell that to my brain.

So, new strategy…… NO renovations until I’ve been living there for a couple of months. This new plan dramatically reduces my workload building up to the move. Phew! Now I’m down to bite-sized, manageable tasks. And of course let’s not forget the mantra….

SLOW DOWN
slow down
slo-o-o-o-ow…….. do-o-o-o-o-own……..

 

13 comments

  1. Breaking things down to little pieces is very difficult for me. I have the problem of seeing the whole picture and hiding under the bed. When you can stay conscious of it, it can usually be overcome and I’m certain with your attitude you will be fine,

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A suggestion…make small lists of “little” things you can do. That way you will not be overwhelmed by what seems to be such a daunting task. Also too – don’t forget to reward yourself at certain points for the progress you are making. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so glad you were able to work it out in a way that works with your brain. I see the whole picture all the time and I’m desperately trying to learn how to make that smaller and more manageable.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Its a process. I still see the whole picture…. freak out…. breath into a paper bag….. talk myself off the ledge… take a tranquillizer….. pace ferociously…..refer to my list… breath…. and tackle the next small detail so that I can have a tick for today. Its bloody hard work with my brain revving at a million miles an hour. But I know you understand ❤

      Like

      1. I do…I bought a house by myself way back in 2001. I was even in the business and couldn’t stop myself from going half nuts. And I had no diagnosis then except anxiety. I was riding at least a hypomanic wave.

        I swear you can do this. And I know it won’t be easy. But, when you get there, it will be worth every tranquilizer you had to take to get there.

        Liked by 1 person

Say what you mean, and mean what you say

