Food, glorious food

I am bipolar and a recovering anorexic made fat by both side effects of bipolar medication, and a damaged thyroid caused by Lithium. Living single and alone, its not only a challenge to cook for one, but it’s a daily battle to eat a nutritious, balanced diet. Or even just to eat at all. I transition between starvation, comfort and binge eating. Everything to extreme, and nothing balanced. This is my weekly journal documenting my eating patterns, moods and thoughts. An attempt to keep account of my successes and failures with food.

 

I have a gluten intolerance. Not the 'fashionable' kind. The kind that makes me really ill. I haven't eaten gluten since about 2003. I managed to get my grubby little hands on a loaf of gluten free bread. Oh what heaven! Egg on toast with a burger pattie on the side

I have a gluten intolerance. Not the ‘fashionable’ kind. The kind that makes me really ill. I haven’t eaten gluten since about 2003. I managed to get my grubby little hands on a loaf of gluten free bread. Oh what heaven! Egg on toast with a burger pattie on the side

 

Another slice of heaven

Another slice of heaven

 

I didn't feel like cooking. What else is new! So I opted to chop 'n mix instead. Salad to the rescue

I didn’t feel like cooking. What else is new! So I opted to chop ‘n mix instead. Salad to the rescue

 

The height of laziness. Open a can, Stan. And since I'm poor and these were on special, baked beans it shall be for the next few days

The height of laziness. Open a can, Stan. And since I’m poor and these were on special, baked beans it shall be for the next few days

 

 

What anorexic worth her salt doesn't exist on a mixture of 'free' foods tossed into a salad. In the name of keeping the tradition going – another salad

What anorexic worth her salt doesn’t exist on a mixture of ‘free’ foods tossed into a salad. In the name of keeping the tradition going – another salad

 

I love leftovers. There're so easy. No cooking, chopping or mixing. Just a scrape onto a new plate. Life couldn't get more simple.

I love leftovers. There’re so easy. No cooking, chopping or mixing. Just a scrape onto a new plate. Life couldn’t get more simple.

3 comments

Say what you mean, and mean what you say

