Another pill

the slow incline of another pill that makes me ill
in all sorts of ways it misbehaves
but the end goal is relief
at least that’s the belief
so every night I swallow and by morning still feel hollow
and wallow in nausea and pain
there’s not yet been any gain from this magical pharmaceutical
my symptoms remain unmoveable
to have hope seems delusional
but still I drink that pill that makes me ill
and chase hope like an unending rope
to at last be free from this misery
that is me

16 comments

      1. I read your ‘About’ page as well today and find that you are a poet at your core and that you can be humorous too. We Bipolars may be misunderstood, but we are the full spectrum – wall to wall excitement or dread and everything in between. I look forward to your posts. Peace.

        Liked by 2 people

  1. You are such a fantastic writer. That flowed so smoothly and really captured exactly how I feel when I have to shove these damn pills in my throat day and night. One of them is so big I practically choke on it every morning. Wake up call! Anyways, keep writing and I’ll keep reading.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We expect a lot from our pills, don’t we? Even though we know they don’t always work. And that it can take time for them to work. Still, I don’t think there’s much harm in trying, right?

    Dr. Seuss Break:

    “To the world you may be one person, but to one person you may be the world.”

    “Why fit in when you’re born to stand out?” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You hit the nail on the head. I’m more upset that the so called “cocktail” that had been working for me for at least a year started to fail. I don’t want to be on that merry go round again. With my autoimmune system being compromised and now having one kidney, I think medications are working differently now. The mornings are the worse again. I’m crying or picking a fight with someone. Good thing I’m alone so much so I really just argue to myself. lol Did I mention that one of the meds I take is probably why I lost 135 pounds? I stopped it and gained 10 pounds. I know it’s only 10 pounds and I need to give myself a break but it still frightens me. To imagine being 270 pounds again and depressed would be unbearable. It sounds petty but when you have been bullied most of your life because of your weight, it isn’t. Thank you for the poem. It helps not to feel like you are the only one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh no, I understand the fear of weight gain. I’m a recovering anorexic so its a serious issue with me. I’ve heard that meds stop working after a couple of years. What is that all about? Very frustrating!

      Like

  4. Beautifully written poetry but indeed a sad reality! Medication is horrible and wonderful at the same time!Can completely relate!
    Poetry kept me sane when I was younger and dealing with abuse at home. I still write sometimes but my doodling and crafting is what keeps me sane at the moment! Much love to you

    Like

Say what you mean, and mean what you say

