The magic of memory loss

forgetful

The medications I take for my bipolar leave me with a severely impaired memory. On the bright side, I can watch the same movie over and over again as if I were watching it for the first time. I never hold a grudge because I can never remember the details of the argument in the first place. I am the epitome of forgive and, uhmmm, uhhh, sorry I forget what I was talking about.

Those people who repeatedly repeat themselves? You know the ones, telling those same old stories in boring repetition? Bring it on, ‘cos I didn’t remember it the first time. Books! I never have to buy new ones. I reread what I’ve got again and again ‘cos…… don’t remember!

silver lining

Silver linings

We may hate having to look for them, but sometimes when we do, it can cast a lighter shadow on our lives. What are some of your silver linings?

14 comments

  1. As women, it seems like we’re always worried about our weight. Chronic pain will make you forget about superficial things like that. I remember all the time and money I spent on make-up and hairdos. And shoes! Don’t have to worry about stuff like that anymore. Nor about fashion.

    Yeah, when life is so difficult, it gets easier and easier to narrow your priorities to the ones that really count. Sad, but positive, too. It gets easier to not waste time on bullshit and assholes. But I guess selfishness is part of it, too, because pain will almost always come before everything else.

    I guess it’s important to look at both sides of every situation. But I don’t care how many positives I can find about suffering from chronic pain, there will always be more negatives. That’s just the way it is. However, that doesn’t mean we can’t laugh about it. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can’t even begin to imagine what it must be like to suffer every minute of the day with chronic physical pain. I don’t think there is anything to laugh about with that. I can only admire your spirit. I can see by the focus of beauty in the details in your photo’s that you have ‘cut out the clutter’ or ‘bullshit’. I always maintain, life and beauty are all in the small details, and its these small things that count in a big way. And I think you represent this ethos ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow you actually made me laugh for the first time again. I also have short term memory loss due to ECT TREATMENT. I stopped getting it but I still have some memory loss. I even forget my cell number haha.

    Like

    1. I know, it’s crazy right! I’ve had my car for almost 4 years now and can’t remember which way to turn the key to unlock it. I get so annoyed and angry so I’ve decided to just try and laugh at myself instead πŸ™‚ Glad I could make you laugh!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Put me in the club. I’ve read a mystery novel three times in the past three months. I get about halfway through before I realize I’ve read it already. Same way with movies.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Gosh, Im now debating if I’d stick with meds that stabilized me but caused memory loss. I know I would. The lows are too painful. But memory, gosh. I am grateful that we live now and not fifty years ago. The medications seem crude, but it is better then nothing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Definitely! I’ll take the meds over the pain any day. And I just develop strategies to cope with my memory problems. Lots of note-taking at work, tons of feeling like a moron, but at least I can make a joke out of it πŸ˜‰

      Like

Say what you mean, and mean what you say

