A slow start

I am bipolar and a recovering anorexic made fat by both side effects of bipolar medication, and a damaged thyroid caused by Lithium. Living single and alone, its not only a challenge to cook for one, but it’s a daily battle to eat a nutritious, balanced diet. Or even just to eat at all. I transition between starvation, comfort and binge eating. Everything to extreme, and nothing balanced. Β This is my weekly journal of some of my meals. An attempt to keep account of my successes and failures with food. I’ve thrown in some recipes and tips and tricks as I journey towards balanced, healthy eating.

You may notice I only post dinners
That’s because I don’t eat during the day. I subsist on a combination of strong coffee and cigarettes. This has been a long ingrained pattern, practiced over years of abuse. I fear is I eat during the day, I will get even fatter. Logically I know this is not true. But the thought pattern is instinctive and difficult to break.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 comments

  1. If you want to try to break your daytime pattern start with veggies. They will not contribute to weight gain and they are healthy. But only if you are ready to deal with that. If not, then please ignore this comment. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a good suggestions. I’m my own worst enemy. I’m just in the habit after years of this behaviour of not eating during the day. I need to adopt Tempestjoy’s theory of 21 days to form a new habit. And I’m just lazy :-\

      Liked by 1 person

Say what you mean, and mean what you say

