Id10t errors, lies, and contagious crazy

I’m on my third day back at work. So yep, I’m still gainfully employed. And it wasn’t as bad as I had feared.

I may have my job, but I’ve lost all memory of how to do it! My first day back, I continued in the tradition of ‘village idiot’. The computer’s on but the screen’s not plugged in…. problem exists between chair and keyboard (PEBCAK alert)

*flashing screen

Id10t error – Id10t error – Id10t error – Id10t error

I work within a number of programmes and I hit blanks at every turn. I had no recollection of how to do my job. Patience is my boss’s virtue, note-taking is mine. And together we worked late and got the done. Day three, and I’m quite fluent in job performance.

I went in with a strategy of (1) deflect the question and (2) answer indirectly. The deflecting part worked well for me. Ask them about themselves to take the focus off me. Easy-peasy! But to answer indirectly is not in my makeup. I’m bipolar. Got no filters. So I turned to our stock in trade….. I LIED. I lied, I lied, I lied like my pants was on fire!!

horse face

Fiiiiiiiine thanks! Very well thank you. I’m great! Yes, I’m all good now. Well thanks! Excellent thanks, ready for the new year. You know there’s the smile, and then there’s the teeth-and-gums smile. Sure you can guess which one was mine.

I have always been open about my mental illness. In 2010 I had a rather public breakdown, or perhaps a dissolving would be more appropriate. Since then, I have been open about having bipolar. I blame the lack of filters, so if I was questioned, I answered honestly. Maybe too honestly sometimes but hey, if you don’t want to know the truth, don’t ask the questions. So mostly people welcomed me back warmly with few intrusive questions. Two people ignored me, brrrrr cold shoulders, and one lady backed out as I offered a ‘happy new year’ hug. Possibly she was concerned crazy could be contagious. I dunno…. and they say we’re strange.

2 comments

Say what you mean, and mean what you say

