She stepped off the ledge

twenty three years ago

my mother turned to go

she stepped off the ledge

of sanity’s edge

and fell to her death

in just one breath

I love you today more than ever

you were truly a genuine treasure

you found humour in so many things

even went flying without any wings

I look like you, I have your smile

that people often do admire

You may be gone with each dawn since

but of your love I’m still convinced

I hold your memory close

and think of you the most

My mother, Ruth, committed suicide during what I now understand to have been a psychotic episode, on Sunday morning, 1 November 1992, between 8 - 8.30am (source: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/181551428705976389/)

My mother, Ruth, committed suicide during what I now understand to have been a psychotic episode, on Sunday morning, 1 November 1992, between 8 – 8.30am (source: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/181551428705976389/)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 comments

  1. I’m sorry to read that this is your movie. I feel like I can’t offer words sufficient to shift your feelings about it all, but my attention and support is quietly by your side. xx

    Like

Say what you mean, and mean what you say

