A diagnosis of early psychosis (Part II)

So I’ve just been diagnosed with early stage symptoms/early onset psychosis and my doc has me taking Olanzapine 10mg. The whole psychosis thing is bad enough, but the side effects of Olanzapine are enough to trigger any normal person into having a break with reality.

The variety of side effects with complicated names like hypercholesterolaemia, hyperbilirubinaemia, moniliasis, keratoconjunctivitis and mydriasis, would have any hypocondriac feeling like a kid in a candy store. With complications like congestive heart failure, rectal bleeding, an inability to control bowel movements, sudden death, and my own personal favourite – anal leekage, you gotta hand it to Olanzapine. It doesn’t joke around.

Then there’s the increased cough side effect? Meh, tolerable. I’ll mask it with my smoker’s cough. And just make sure you’re not the person who tells me I should give up smoking because of my bad cough. I might break something other than my connection with reality.

So far my worst side effect has been water retention, causing significant swollen feet and belly. So I’ve taken to wearing knee-high compression stockings. I’m bringing sexy back, baby. A corset and drinking gallons of lemon water is also a saving grace.

Aside from the medication, there have been side effects to the psychosis itself. I’d been dating a guy for two and a half months. He bailed. So did my father. Wants nothing to do with me. But its okay, the feeling is mutual *she says, crying on the inside*

11 comments

  1. Wow. That is a crazy list of side effects. I hope you don’t get any of them and that the water retention goes away soon.

    I’m sorry to hear about your boyfriend and father. They aren’t strong enough for you. You’re a warrior and need to be surround yourself with the same. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hey, that’s a good way to look at it ‘they aren’t strong enough for me’. Thanks, I really like that one. Will keep it rotating in my head. Thanks Leslie. And the water retention isn’t as bad so hopefully it will disappear quietly altogether

      Liked by 2 people

  2. *lights up and smokes with you* sometimes my psychotic episodes fuck me up and sometimes they’re quite pleasant. Sorry about your asshole ex bf and father, way to make someone feel extra shitty on top of it all. If you don’t settle into the olanzepine with reduced or no side effects and no benefits, you’ll try something else and something will make the psychosis stfu. Strongs my friend. Vasbyt.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Ahhhhh, the bf was more a ‘prospect’ than boyfriend. You know how if you want to join a motorbike gang you become a prospect first and have to earn your patch to be a member? Well, that’s how I approach dating/relationships. He hadn’t earned his patch yet so f**k him. My father, well, what can one say really. I’m grateful to say the swollen feet/hands/face/tummy are not that bad anymore *sips on 3rd liter of cucumber infused water* Ya, ek byt vas

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Lighting up over here in the Q (thank god for bud)… Sometimes, dude, people just suck. Believe me, it’s not you, it’s them. Time for a cream cheese brownie… Or some french fries… Why am I so hungry?

    Give me food
    Give me bud
    But don’t give me
    fake love
    🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Say what you mean, and mean what you say

