The Liebster Award

I’m a first time blogger. I began my blog recently, in an attempt to help my healing process. In an attempt to connect with others and find solace in the reality that many others wrestle with demons similar to mine. It was with fear and trepidation that I launched myself head first into the realms of the internet’s blogging culture. Here I have discovered a world of incredible people – talented, courageous, intelligent, passionate and unique – who have accepted me warmly and without question. Judgment does not reside here. Only empathy, encouragement, inspiration, concern, support and laughter.

 

Marie Abanga http://marieabanga.com/ named me as one of her nominees for The Liebster Award. I was incredulous and daunted. After some contemplation, I decided it was time to sweep my low self-worth issues under the “red carpet” for just right now, step outside my comfort zone and embrace the sentiment that drives this award. In the spirit of courage, hope and perseverance, I not only accept the award, but will have great joy in paying it forward.

 

The Liebster Award recognizes new, up and coming bloggers who have a certain number of followers, ranges from 200 to 3000. Liebster is German meaning “beloved” “sweetest” “dearest”. Essentially, I like to view this award as acknowledging some of the “sweetest” bloggers who connect their blogs to their viewers in a welcoming and hearty fashion.

 

If you wish to accept this award, the following guidelines are below. There is no pressure to accept the award. I find your blog genuine and would like you to know that I value your honesty and content.

 

The steps for The Liebster Award are as follows:
1. Thank the person who nominated you for the award!
Marie, thank you so much for sharing this award with me. It has given me much joy and hope. And I can’t wait to be able to pay it forward!
2. Add The Liebster Award logo to your post and blog.
3. Answer 10 questions provided to you by the person who nominated you.
4. Provide 10 questions of your own for your nominees to answer.
5. Nominate 7 bloggers for the award and notify them.

 

**These are the general guidelines. With that being said, you do not have to do the full amount to accept the award. You can answer and/or ask only one question, nominate one person, whatever you feel comfortable doing. ** (This I love most because I know many don’t have time to do them awards ‘school’).

 

These are Marie’s questions and I choose to answer all of them:
1. If you were stranded on an island and only had 3 things, what would they be?
Solar panels, iPad, vegetable garden

2. If you could change one thing about your country, what would it be?
Eliminate corruption

3. If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?
Uhhhh, boob job, lose weight, gain waist….. the list can go on and on. But if I’m to be honest, surprisingly I actually wouldn’t change a thing (gasp!). This is exactly who I’m meant to be. And I’ve worked too damn hard coming to terms with and accepting ‘me’. Gosh! Don’t tell anyone, but I think I might be developing some self esteem! Shhhhh….

4. If you could try something new today, what would it be?
Rollerblading

5. What is your life mantra?
I have many….my favourite is “I’m the bravest person I know”

6. What is your biggest fear in life?
Dying alone and abandoned in an old age home where I’m beaten daily

7. If you could have dinner with one person (alive or deceased) who would it be and why?
I love Jared Leto (30 Seconds to Mars) as a musician and artist. I would love to dissect his lyrics and short films. The reasoning behind what he presents

8. What is one thing you are proud of?
FINALLY leaving my husband, The Alcoholic, after 15 years of marriage. And, on my own, starting all over again from scratch

9. What is the most beautiful place you’ve ever seen?
The temples and pyramids in Yucatan, Mexico

10. Name a song that describes your life in a nutshell.
It’s Amazing – by Aerosmith. If you take the time to listen to the song – I haven’t seen that light yet but I know one day I will. I have no idea whether or not I’ll be alright, I can only persevere with dignity. Everything changes constantly, nothing stays the same. My learning will only end the day I am dead.

 

I have 5 nominees. Each has brought about a change in my thinking, behaviour or attitude, and should they wish to accept the nomination, I pose the same questions to you:

1. Bipolar On Fire http://bipolaronfire.com was my very first follower. And when I deleted my first site in an act of self-sabotage, and created a new one, she followed me again! Woohooo!

2. Life In A Bind http://lifeinabind.wordpress.com/ has recently given me a completely different perspective on the topic of ‘expectations’.

3. Lauren http://dont-want-to-exist.com/ and Sarah http://bloglostandfound.wordpress.com/, we all share an eating disorder, presenting in different ways. Thanks to Lauren, I’ve gained a deeper understanding of my recovery from anorexia – truthfully, lack of recovery.

4. Sarah http://bloglostandfound.wordpress.com/ is a superwoman – unaided, she has achieved recovery, and maintained it. I marvel that she has overcome this thing called ‘weight’.

5. SheketEchad http://sunflowersolacefarm.wordpress.com/ blog offers an uplifting variety of content, routinely posted like clockwork, despite a gruelling work commitment and the unexpected loss of her husband a few years ago. With an eye for nature and appreciation of the arts, her blog is pure joy.

Check out their wonderful blogs

liebsteraward
18 comments

  1. Congrats!!!!!! You deserve to start with the top award and can work to round up the others. I’m with you, giving the award to someone is more joy than getting it. Of course, that’s after you do the happy dance. Have a great weekend. 🙂

    Like

      1. Keep the happy dance going-find something…maybe a song…that gets your feet moving…..keep the happy dance going until you feel it. What is the saying, fake it till you make it. You’re going to make it, do a happy dance when you start to get down,,it will keep reminding you how far you’ve come…refocus on where you’re going. I love your site. I know in time you’re going to get there. We all carry something around, as long as it doesn’t carry us around by the neck..life is moving forward. Hugs.

        Like

      2. Thank you. I needed some kind words and encouragement. I’m feeling a bit dismal today, but if there’s one thing about bipolar, it’s that I can practically guarantee myself I’ll be feeling great tomorrow 🙂

        Like

      3. Boy, that’s the kind of Bipolar I want…..next day feeling great for sure….stretching a bit…..I have struggled with Treatment Resistant Bipolar….spent way to many years on the down side. The 10 years of Hypo was great until I lost everything including myself. Then had to pay. My doctor always said….ok Melinda, the higher you go the harder you fall. When you’re there you don’t want to come down. The place where coming down and being on the up side meets kicked my ass. I’m here, all you have to do if force yourself to send an e-mail. I’ll help or kick you in the ass any time you need me. I’m serious, I’ve been there. Nothing feels better then helping with maybe one word, I didn’t have that. It might have made a difference. Just knowing somebody understood my disease and was there. Take me up on it. Hugs.

        Like

      4. Thanks Melinda. I appreciate it. I’m rapid cycling so I never know from one day to the next how I’m going to be. So I just take it one day at a time. I do appreciate your support, and I will take you up on a kind word or a kick up my arse – which ever I need 🙂 Haha, you’ve lifted my spirits already

        Like

      5. You must be my English/European friend? We don’t say arse here in the states. Rapid cycling is tough, it kicked me down many times as I changed meds. It was very tough before I found the right doctor, going from one drug to another, the only thing that works for me, when I get to the edge is ECT. Are you tracking your moods? I did a post and included a copy of the mood chart I used. I didn’t go into detail. What I was finally able to do with the chart is realize my normal was not true normal, mine was under normal, that helped my doctor understand exactly where I was. I didn’t do a good job in the beginning. He is an awesome doctor yet don’t say much and a bit intimidating. It was close to three years before I realize he wasn’t an asshole. Take a look if not using one. I might have been cycling that day. I just realized I shared a secret with you…ok not really a secret on purpose, my name, not many know me by anything else. See how special you are. HAHAHA Hugs.

        Like

      6. Haha well, I’m Sandy, from south africa, and we say ass AND arse. Even though I’ve been bipolar since a teen, this is the first time I’m committed to taking meds. Since 2010. So have tried some things to plot my moods. But they changed even during the day – it gets confusing 🙂 And my divorce has been tough. Today is exactly 1 month until the trial. My husband is trying to make sure I get nothing. From being abused for 15 years, it been a hard and fast learning curve to stand up for myself. I’m hoping to stable out after the divorce. I’m glad we’ve made friends. Its nice speaking the same language (so to speak) to someone. Thank you for connecting with me. I don’t have many friends, so I appreciate it, M. I’m off to bed now, enjoy the rest of you day. Chat again soon 🙂 *happy dances off to bed*
        Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

        Like

      7. Hi Sandy,
        You have quite a weight on your shoulders. I write for collaborative group, most are survivors of domestic violence. They have been in your shoes. There is a wealth of knowledge of leaving, kids, divorcing, stalking, threatening, reading about their experience might give you some tools for your trial. They have been at that point or a month away (Sunshine) in an ugly situation. Check out cutthroatclubhouse.wordpress.com , Army of Angels, Teela Hart, I’m close to both. They lay it out there and it times makes me cry. If you have problems finding them, you can look at my likes/comments on most post to reach them. I have some questions about your Bipolar struggle, it can wait for the next time we talk. Have a great day. 🙂

        Like

      8. Thanks M (to keep your anonymity). I will definitely check them out. Please ask any questions you want. Its why I’m here. I want to learn and communicate and hopefully heal. This week is a nightmare for me workwise. But don’t let it stop you asking anything or chatting. I’ll reply when I get a gap 🙂

        Like

  2. Congratulations (and thank you too)! I’ve been in quiet mode for a bit, but I’ll be back. You write honestly and well on some really touching issues, and I am glad to see it recognized!

    Like

    1. Thank you. I respect the need for quiet time, going off the radar for a bit. Its good to unplug from the world sometimes. It was just to say I appreciate all that you give amidst challenging circumstances. Take care, and I’ll check you round the corner 🙂

      Like

    1. I went everywhere, yes Chichen Itza but Palenque was my favourite of all. Also off the beaten track almost on the border of Belize – I forget the name but so beautiful. Although I took 6 weeks of spanish lessons and could get by, almost 20 years later all I’ve got is “una mas cerveza por favor”. I guess when you’re in your 20’s only the important things stick in your mind long term 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Say what you mean, and mean what you say

