So stamp me crazy and call it quits

It pains me, and shames me to reveal this. Got into trouble at work again. A written complaint. “My behaviour”. I stand accused by a precious youngster, brimming with bitchiness and self-entitlement, who still lives at home and is half my age. “My language” seems to be the issue. I openly admit to using foul language. It’s part of the way I express myself in any fearful* or angry moment. I would never use it to directly or intentionally offend.**

I am not going to bore you with the details. There’s her side of the story, there’s my side of the story. And, let’s welcome Mr Murphy’s Law into the picture – we were the only two in the office at the time. I can’t guarantee you my side is the gospel truth, because my perception of reality is tainted by bipolar. And I forget an awful lot of things. Hence, constant self-doubt.

Its a double-edged sword. Co-workers only started complaining about me once I went public about my diagnoses. But at least with full disclosure, I do have the labour law in my favour. So while I am incapable of defending myself, the law has my sorry-arsed, disabled, back.

And going forward you ask? I’m clueless. In an effort not to offend said individual, I shall have to stop talking at work. I can hear you all gasp, aaahhhhh, ohhhhh no, she can’t do that! I’ve done it before, and I will do it again. It’s the ONLY way people will not cast judgment, accusations, and written complaints against me. Its the only I know of that will help me keep my job. I’m now single. If I loose my job I’m fucked (fearful* moment).

**past men/lovers/fathers are excluded

6 comments

  1. I was brought into my boss’s office once for “laughing too much” – you just can’t win in an office setting. Lay low. Do your job. Focus on other things outside of work. Ignore the bitches and haters. They are EVERYWHERE. Or you can really freak them out and be super nice to them. I do that sometimes and it confuses the hell out of them. 🙂 My best coping advice for office situations – just do your job, do it well, and I also count down how many hours ’til it’s time to go home… once I get to 90 minutes, then it’s minutes – it gives me hope!

    Like

    1. Hahaha excellent advice. Thank you. I’m doing the keep to myself thing + super nice. And you’re right, in an office environment, there is no pleasing everybody. I already count the hours ’til hometime. High noon is the halfway mark which I call ‘almost nearly hometime’. And you’re so right, it always gives me the hope to push forward through the rest of the day

      Like

    2. Hahaha excellent advice. Thank you. I’m doing the keep to myself thing + super nice. And you’re right, in an office environment, there is no pleasing everybody. I already count the hours ’til hometime. High noon is the halfway mark which I call ‘almost nearly hometime’. And you’re so right, it always gives me the hope to push forward through the rest of the day

      Like

Say what you mean, and mean what you say

